Million Dollar Props on a Dollar Store Budget: Faux Food Made With Wax

Standard

Since Rope is in a site-specifc venue and doesn’t have any glaring, boiling hot stage lights to worry about, I thought I’d play around with a very cheap and easy medium when making my prop food; wax.

I went to the dollar store and wandered the aisles until I found some candles I liked the colour of and some molds I wanted to try out; I could have gotten better quality ones at Michael’s, but these were dirt cheap and good for a first go.

Here’s some simple step-by-step instructions:

1. Chop up the wax you want to use. I had in mind something like a cherry or tomato so I wanted it to be a little translucent. I mixed a red candle along with a semi-opaque one – both were from the dollar store.

Dollar store candles

Dollar store candles

1. Chop up the wax in a heat-able container

1. Chop up the wax

2. I put the wax in a pie tin and melted it in the oven. You could also put it in something microwaveable, and I’ve even done some small bits with a lighter.

2. The mixed melted wax

2. The mixed & melted wax, after being in the oven

3. Pouring the wax into an ice cube tray

3. Pouring the wax into an ice cube tray

3. I got an ice cube tray from the dollar store, one that has the rubber bottom so you can easily pop them out. This one had nice rounded bottoms so I thought it could make a good cherry mold. I poured them in, using an oven mitt.

4. The cooled wax

4. The cooled wax

4. I stuck them in the fridge for a bit to cool them faster. They hardened quickly, but were a bit concave on the top.

5. They came out of the mold easily, unfortunately the rubber bottom gave them a rough look on top (the sides came out smooth like I had wanted).

5. Removed from the mold

5. Removed from the mold

With my new little wax blobs I started playing around, seeing what they could be used for. Here are some of the results;

Mini h'orderves made with salt dough, spackling, fake leaves and wax

Mini h’orderves made with salt dough, spackling, fake leaves and wax

Mini tart made with salt dough, styrofoam, wax and gel medium

Mini tart made with salt dough, styrofoam, wax and gel medium

Mini h'orderves made with wax, styrofoam and fake leaves

Mini h’orderves made with wax, styrofoam and fake leaves

Mini h'orderves made with salt dough, spackling, fake leaves and wax, as well as fake caviar made with beads

Mini h’orderves made with salt dough, spackling, fake leaves and wax, as well as fake caviar made with beads

One thought on “Million Dollar Props on a Dollar Store Budget: Faux Food Made With Wax

Leave a Reply

